Story and photos by: Gregor Snell
Picture
Flight board in Lima, Peru
The day before me looks to be a long one. I turn off my alarm and roll out of the hostel. Alright time to move. A 5am wake up and transfer to airport leads to a four hour flight followed by an easy hour interval before the next. Just enough time to grab a bite and walk to the new departure gate. 1pm take off, more coffee and a shit sandwich served by a surprisingly cute flight attendant. I guess she's in her early twenties, keen to start a lengthy career in serving shit sandwiches. I smile back.
Picture
Somewhere over the Atlantic
We land at 6pm and no doubt, I'm hungry. Unfortunately no time to eat, there is a car waiting to take me another hour to my next hotel. We arrive a half hour late due to construction on route. Fun. Luckily a friend is still waiting for me in the lobby. I say hello, check in, drop my bags in the room, change my shirt and leave with cash in pocket.

My friend picks up on my apparent lack of interest, "come on man, this is the city, you know the party never stops. It's been awhile, let’s go hit the town." I don't need convincing. The only thing on my mind is some food and a cold beer. "Dude, what do I look tired? Come on, let’s go." I hand my key back to the reception no later than three minutes after first picking it up.

From the days beginning I had spent 15 hours reaching my destination. A relatively easy day spent in a life in transit.

Learn more about the author Here




Leave a Reply.