Picture
There are several attractions surrounding Yogyakarta which are best seen right around sunrise! The reason for this, as with many places, is there are far fewer tourist and you can essentially get the entire attractions to yourself. In addition to this, you'll hear the local morning birds calls, and get the warm morning hues highlighting the temples and their surroundings. Indonesia is riddled with lush jungle and volcanic landscapes. Almost everywhere you go you'll be surrounded by scenery such as this.
9/7/2011 07:31:55 am

Oh, sunrise. Beautifully captured.

I have a thing for Indonesia. I met my better-half in Bali in 2001 on a surf trip. The happy ending? Getting married 4 months ago.

Where you headed next?

Reply
9/7/2011 09:19:45 am

Thank you for the kind comments!

I have a special place in my heart for Indonesia as well! It was around mar-may 2001 that I was there last! I wonder if we crossed paths on that trip? Sounds like you may have been a little distracted from meeting too many others though, hehe.. Congrats!

Thailand is next on my list.. but more of a permanent move actually. No set time frame of when or if I'll return :)

Reply
9/7/2011 11:08:13 am

Thanks for the warm congratulatory wishes, Ian!

We were in Bali, Lombok and northern Sumatra from September to October of 2001. Living beside orangutans in Bukit Lawang definitely topped the list. You never know about crossing paths --- it's a small world, at times.

Thailand sounds spectacular. Will you be setting up shop in Bangkok or traveling the country? With friends or solo?

Reply
9/7/2011 11:53:08 am

I loved the 2 day Orangutan trek into the jungle. We found a mother with 2 babies high in the canopy. Definitely one of the (many) highlights while there :)

I will be moving to Thailand, first to Volunteer for 3 months in a village outside Chiang Mai, then hopefully to find placement there or in the surroundings. Going blind with 2 feet and a heartbeat, and seeing where the road of life will take me at the moment!

I'm in the process of purging almost everything I own. It's very scary but liberating at the same time!

Reply
9/9/2011 07:05:56 am

So great that you're going to volunteer! No doubt you'll land yourself nearby after working with the locals.

Downsizing is always tough, but like you said, healthy for the bigger picture. Just being able to pick-up and go, in a moment's notice, is worth it! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.