Picture
A male Elk, wandering through the town of Banff
A little known fact for many of the international visitors who come through the mountainous town in Banff National Park, is that the wildlife found meandering through many of their parks are in fact just that - Wild!

It was the summer of 1997. I was temporarily living in the town of Banff at the time, though had only recently just arrived. It was going to just be a stop in my hitch hiking journey across Canada, but I almost instantly fell in love with the raw beauty this town seems to emanate. I picked up some work at 'Bumper's Beef House' on the edge of town, and quickly made friends with another man who had grown up in a neighbouring city to my own home town. We often went on hikes together, though this one day in particular, we decided to just lounge in the Bow Valley park.

Elk were amongst the most common wildlife one could observe passing through the town, though most other wild animals such as black bears, marmots, grizzly bears, and beavers are much more commonly found away from the presence of humans, scattered around the National Park. Because of the abundance of Elk in the town, however, many visitors assume that they are more domesticated than the other animals. This is NOT true. Though they have developed a tolerance for humans, they come to the park due to the higher presence of areas to graze, such as golf courses, parks and peoples yards.

On this beautiful summer day, while lounging in the park, we had brought with us some snacks and blankets to sit upon. We had chosen a part of the park slightly off the more beaten trails of the tourists wandering along the riverside, and away from the nearby streets and parking lots. It was as tranquil as it could get. Casually throughout the day, however, we made notice to the numbers of tourists that seemed to be getting closer and closer to the Elk who were sharing the park with us that day. There was one pair in particular which stood out amongst the crowd. It was a mother Elk and her young calf. At one point we even observed a situation which had involved them going to sleep, curled up together, and a group of rowdy tourists came over to take pictures. Now I would have thought that the sight of them sleeping under a tree, with the river gently flowing behind them would make the most ideal scene for an award winning photograph... they seemed to think otherwise. The group tried gathering in front of them and started clapping their hands to wake the majestic beasts, to get a picture of them awake with the group instead!

As you could imagine, by this point the mother was getting a little anxious, and when the baby stirred awake she pushed him along to get away from the disruptive humans. Of course, the most tranquil area in the park happened to be where my friend and I had set up camp. The young calf started grazing in a very slow and awkward path towards us. As it gradually got closer, the mother finally became interested in our presence. The mother cautiously moved over...

Picture
Some female Elk, resting in the park
The Elk, or wapiti (Cervus canadensis) is one of the largest species of deer in the world. Female Elk are considerably smaller than the males, weighing in roughly around 225-300 KG (or 500-660 lbs), while the males can get in excess of 320-600 KG (720-1300 lbs). Females also do not grow the antlers that the males were once heavily hunted for. Even with the reduced size, and the lack of her head-gear, it was still quite a large majestic creature that made it's way towards my friend and I.

Now I had been lying on my blanket, eating my snacks and enjoying the sun, while my friend had earlier taken to the picnic table nearby. When the mama Elk approached, it b-lined in my general direction. Having had a bit of information about wild animals in school, I knew it was best to not make eye contact, nor any sudden movements, so I lay still as it approached. It stopped approximately an arm's reach away and towered above me, breathing gently and smelling the air around. I could feel it's warm breath. While most people would have panicked, I remained calm. This was an incredible experience! She sensed my calm, must have assumed I was a non-threat and slowly backed off away from me. My heart began to race with excitement. This was nature! This was real!

The mother had backed up about 2 meters now, and the calf came towards her. At a stage which must have been somewhere between nursing and grazing, the baby began suckling from the mother. I glanced up at my friend, and he made a subtle smile in acknowledgment of how special this situation was, but also that we were now maybe overstaying our welcome. I nodded and slowly began to rise up in almost a slow, push-up type motion. My efforts to do so in a slow, non-aggressive manor appeared to go unappreciated by the mother, who quickly responded to what she must have interpreted my stance as a universal pouncing position!

She jumped to her hind legs, tearing away from the baby! The mighty Elk stood on her hind legs long enough for me to get a glance upwards into the silhouetted figure, before she came crashing down next to me grazing my arm. In a split second she was up again, and I was on my feet. Now the bright thing to do may have been to run to the other side of the picnic table my friend was sitting at. With adrenaline controlling my actions, I did the exact opposite and ran into the clearing! Not 20 meters later, I could feel the hooves of the animal knocking down on the back of my legs, forcing me to collapse on to the ground. Heart racing, I naturally (and quite luckily, might I add) curled up into the fetal position. Over and over again I could feel the Elk's feet slamming down on to me, though being on my side, it had little surface area to make contact with. The next 30 seconds or so are a bit of a blur and I relied mostly on the onlookers for information as to what happened next.
Picture
A male Elk and a man at a stand-still.
Apparently, while the Elk had made their approach over towards us, other locals of the area had already taken precaution. When the attack began, some were already on their feet ready for an incident, and began running over. They began yelling and banging on trees and the picnic table which my friend had been sitting on. One local even through his shoes at the Elk! At this point it was full of adrenaline itself and turned, abandoning me, and began to charge my friend. He ran to the other side of the picnic table, as I should have done. It quickly turned again, and went for the next closest target. An old German man who was snapping pictures of the incident. He ran to the other side of a tree and hid. He ended up being the distraction of the Elk for the next several minutes, long enough for it to slowly calm down until the park rangers arrived.

Meanwhile, I had come to, and my life had stopped flashing before my eyes. Knowing basic first aid, I did a quick check of myself and found nothing to be broken. I got up, and went into a more sheltered area, asking my friend to keep the crowds of people now forming a good distance from me.

Before the ambulance had arrived, I was being interviewed by the local newspaper! It had come up in the dazed interview, all the events of the day leading up to the attack. At one point in the interview, I had mentioned during our relaxing day in the park, we had been making music of sorts, by blowing on two pieces of grass wedged firmly between our thumbs. A week later, in the article, it was said that we had inadvertently been mimicking the Elk's mating call, which apparently sounds much like the sound made by the blades of grass.

Once the ambulance arrived, a quick check up lead to me going for a more thorough examination at the local hospital. Luckily I came through with a hairline fracture in my jaw, some hefty bruising to my back and side, and minor kidney damage which quickly healed itself.

Upon going back to the park to collect my belongings, I ran into my friend who had already picked up my blanket. Feeling a litle famished from the whole ordeal, I asked if he had found my snacks as well, to which he replied with a bit of a chuckle, that as the mother was off chasing me around the park, the young one had laid down on the blanket and munched away the rest of my food! In short, it was all a big set up!

All kidding aside, I very narrowly escaped an unprovoked attack, which could have easily been fatal had I been alone, or had it been one of the male "Bull" Elk. The aggravation levels can quickly rise if these animals are tormented, as this pair had been through out the day. This is their land, and though we have a town there now, we must respect the fact that these animals are still wild, and quite dangerous. If ever in Banff National Park, please remember this lesson, and "don't feed the animals". Give them space, and enjoy the majesty they emanate as they roam through the beautiful landscapes!




Leave a Reply.