Picture
Going to Carnival was always a dream, and in Feb of 2007 it became a reality. This was my first exposure to Latin America, somewhere I had longed to go to for years. When the opportunity presented itself to be able to go to Brazil during one of the Southern Hemisphere's biggest parties, I thought what better way could there possibly be to dive right in?!

Carnival (and Brazil) can be a bit overwhelming for a first timer to this part of the world. I was fortunate in several ways, as I had some friends to meet up with down there, as well as another friend's Condo to stay in while visiting. This friend had a Brazilian wife, and they had decided to keep their beach side condo in Barra de Tijuca, which is a long beach in the southern end of Rio, nicknamed the Miami of Brazil for it's high end housing, beach side lifestyle and slightly more material driven attitude. Along with the stay at his condo came a few of his wife's family members who made regular visits to make sure we were ok. It was great having a local hand to make suggestions of where to eat, what things should cost, and where the best parties would be. I would strongly recommend making contact with a reliable local upon arriving there so you don't miss any of the action. A good choice is probably the concierge at your hotel, if not with a tour company.

Now the thing about Carnival which you don't always hear about, is that although it is really only over the course of a few days, the excitement starts building weeks before the event. I had arrived almost a week early, and already you could catch the occasional Samba party in the street. The energy you get while there is unlike any other party I've been to in the World! By the time the actual festival began, most of the city had already been going for a couple days at the very least. I remember a couple nights, having just wandered through the streets to different boroughs, party hopping from one beach to another, and the next thing I knew, the sun was rising and I had been out all night. Making our way back to the condo (a fantastic hour bus ride weaving through coast lines and tunnels dug through magnificent mountains, I was never upset at the prospect of having to commute), we occasionally wouldn't arrive until 10:00 the following morning and you could still hear the music and cheering erupting in the streets. It's truly a 24 hour event for at least each day of the festival itself (festival dates can vary drastically from year to year). Often the routine consisted of a quick swim in the ocean, a quick bite to eat, then pass out during the days hottest hours. Up by 16:00 for a quick meal, mix a few homemade Caipirinhas, then back off in to the city for another night of festivities.


The highlight for most is of course the Sambódromo, which is the exhibition place for the Samba Schools who perform on the giant, well known floats with elaborate costumes. What I tell you next may be considered blasphemy, but I didn't actually go to the Sambadrome! I was having too much fun wandering the streets, being part of the impromptu dance parties happening all over the city and still seeing people in full costume, that at the time I didn't see the value in paying to sit in an exhibition arena for several hours watching a parade go by. Granted, I know it would have been worth it had I gone in, but the fact that I didn't did not hinder my experience what-so-ever. With one of the most incredible landscapes, with some gorgeous beaches, beautiful people, attractions galore (including "Cristo Redentor", one of the New 7 Wonders of the World), and deliciously & cheap street food and beer/drinks, this is one of my favorite destinations by far!

My best suggestions are to go with an open mind, a smile on your face, an explorers mentality... and leave the majority of your possessions in the locker in the hotel when you go out! It may be a very fun and vibrant place to visit, but the busyness also makes it a pick-pocket haven. I only left with what I needed, both night and day. Money for some drinks and cab fare, entrance fees to an attraction, and the clothes on my back.. sometimes a disposable camera for the bars, and I ran in to no problems at all the month I was there! Play hard, but be smart about it and I can guarantee this will be a life changing experience!
8/6/2012 09:48:44 pm

Carnival is supposed to be a time of play, fun and mischief for young and old. Its supposed to be a time for letting go of your routines and inhibitions and basically having a frivolous time - in advance of the discipline of Lent.

Reply



Leave a Reply.