Author: Gregor Snell

The first week of vacation is amazing.  Everything is new and all of the experiences are so different from those at home. I tend to miss the scenes of daily life everywhere around me. Eventually I begin to open my eyes and see the real movement. People are going to work, kids to school, traffic approaching rush hour, routine. Routine is everywhere around me. Do you lose routine when you travel?

When I travel I throw my own routine out the window. I get fat, I don't exercise (other than walking, a lot), I don't necessarily eat well, I drink too much, etc. etc.  Sometimes I think this is the reason most people go on vacation anyway. I love it, but at the same time I feel a little guilty for letting myself slip.

Is being on vacation not meant to be party, sleep, party, party?  This is all fun and games but where are the cultural experiences, the local interaction? People are buying, selling, moving, going about their daily lives while I just sit and observe. I am the passenger.

I think, shit, it's Tuesday, everyone I know back home would be slaving away behind their desks, working. Sometimes I forget that “normal” people go about their lives in a very steady, secure routine. Travel is a chance to let this go and live for the moment, as cheesy at that may sound, sometimes it’s a liberating experience to drop everything in your life and hit the road.
Kelly
10/15/2011 09:23:13 am

Soo, what happens when travel is your job and becomes your new routine? Does it change how you feel about travel itself? Does it all meld into one or is there a total difference when you're travelling for work vs. travelling for pleasure. I think there are elements that overlap, and personally I love that I get to travel for work. But it's only every couple of months. I do wonder what it's like when your daily routine is travel, all year...

Reply
Gregor
10/15/2011 11:54:38 pm

Kelly, cheers for the comment. Being on the road full time can become routine to some extent and this does change your mentality about travelling. I think the best way to avoid getting jaded and burnt out is the people you meet and interaction with everything.

The daily experiences are what often keep me going. There is also a difference between personal travel and travel as a job, and you're right, after awhile they can begin to meld together.

Personally I keep myself motivated through the new experiences of others and the goals I want to complete in my lifetime.

Reply



Leave a Reply.